Before I plummet into the night,
Teach me how to forget the dazzle of your smile.
You could say I could blind my memory,
And breathe into oblivion.
But could you ever say “worry not, for I’m here”?
I cut down stems of equal length in my garden,
No, not out of grief; but out of curiosity.
Wonder why love could never be equal
On both sides?

Here, take this matchstick from my hand,
Before I burn down all the bridges
That connect you to me.
Or, take the biggest piece of my shattered hopes
And run away, like a thief does.
You were the keeper of my heart,
You know, you weren’t supposed to run away with it.
The bridge is about to collapse;
Run away with the matchstick instead.

The night’s deep, I’m diving into it.
The night’s blind, all I see is you.
I wonder why people start a war to kill:
Fill someone with love, and then leave;
Killing people is much easier, you see.
You were the page of my favourite book
Which I never wanted to turn over.
You weren’t supposed to have abominable creases.
I want to go home, not inside the night.

Last night, I saw my mother with a matchstick
And a stem. She looked at me and said:
“Never cheat on people; they might have lost
Everything just to win your heart”
And she set the stem on fire. I looked at it, aghast.
She wasn’t my mother, anyway: I was dreaming.
Ironically, I could never cheat since then.
I’m a hopeless believer of equal love.

The stems that I cut are now dead.
Equal love doesn’t exist.
Girl, please take away the matchstick now;
The flame is burning my hopes.
I might drop the matchstick and it’ll
Burn the bridges down.
Take it from my hand,
And run.
Run away, before it’s too late.

Leave a comment